How do you make a marshmallow?

Marshmallows are candy and making them is a candy making process.  They contain mostly sugar, sugar syrup (or corn syrup) gelatin, and flavoring.  Sugar and syrup are combined with water and brought to a high temperature.  Once the mixture reaches the perfect temperature, it is put in a mixing bowl along with gelatin, and mixed together to combine the two parts, mix in air, and cool it down.  Once the marshmallow goo is nice and fluffy, it is poured out into a lined pan and must sit for 2-24+ hours to allow the gelatin to set (that's what gives it the signature "squish")  After the slab of marshmallow is set, it can be cut into individual marshmallows--everything will be very sticky, so lots of powdered sugar and other tasteless starches (commonly corn starch, but in our case, arrowroot starch) will be required to make it possible to handle and package them.

What's so great about your marshmallows?

Although there are many ways to make marshmallows, we think that ours are pretty special.  We never use corn syrup (and instead make our own sugar syrup from scratch) or corn starch (we use arrowroot powder.)  Many marshmallows contain blue dye to make them appear whiter.  We don't use any artificial coloring in our marshmallows, except for in our signature rainbow marshmallows.  We also don't use artificial flavors and make all of our extracts from scratch!  We can even tell you how to make your own, if you'd like!

We also only use kosher certified beef gelatin.  All traditional marshmallows contain gelatin, but we are proud to only use beef gelatin to allow more of our amazing guests access to our 'mallows!

Do you use egg whites to make your mallows?

No.  While there are wonderful mallows out there that contain egg whites, we like ours without.  

Are your mallows gluten free?

Marshmallows are naturally gluten free, but we do make some flavors that contain gluten (for example our S'mores flavor.)  However, it is very important to note that while we do our very best to avoid cross contamination, we make our own graham crackers so our marshmallows are not recommended for those with severe gluten allergies.

Do your marshmallows contain corn syrup?

We do not use any corn syrup (high fructose or otherwise) and do our best to avoid using corn altogether.   All of our marshmallows (with one exception*) are made without any corn--even our confectioners sugar (a very sneaky place corn starch is often added) is corn-free.  

On the food truck we do occasionally have a frozen s'more that will contain ice cream made with corn syrup but we do our best to only choose ice creams made without it.  If you have a corn sensitivity, please ask and we will make sure to direct you away from anything containing corn.  

*We do have one exception, however, the food dye in our Rainbow marshmallows contains cornstarch. Unfortunately, we have been unable to produce such striking results with any other food dye.

Are your marshmallows vegan?

Our marshmallows are not as they contain kosher (beef) gelatin.  However, we are happy to announce that we do have a vegan s'more on offer as often as possible on our food truck and for curbside pickup.  Unfortunately, we do not have a vegan marshmallow available for shipping, yet but we are working on it.

We use top grade Great Lakes Gelatin that is certified Kosher (beef, as opposed to porcine) and is completely flavorless.

While our marshmallows are Kosher (not certified), many flavors may NOT be Halal.  We handmake our extracts using vodka, rum, or other pure alcohols. Although the alcohol content in our extracts will be less than one percent of the total product. If you have dietary restrictions please contact us so we can let you know what options we have available.

 Are they hard?  Tough?  Dehydrated?

Our marshmallows are all gentle clouds of soft puffiness with enough of a chew to give you chompers something interesting to do while you enjoy your new happy place.

Do they toast?

All handmade marshmallows will toast differently than your store-bought variety, however our marshmallows toast like champs!  You just have to watch them a little more closely than you may have in the past.  Our marshmallows also do not catch on fire, so no flaming, sticky, projectiles to worry about!  When we toast our marshmallows we use a chef-style butane torch because we like the caramelized effect (and the city won't let us build a bonfire) and we recommend using this method if possible.  This effect can also be achieved using a windless lighter or cigar lighter.  Our marshmallows were made to be toasted so however you do it, enjoy it!

Can I design a mixed sample box of flavors?

Unfortunately, no.  Marshmallows are very sensitive to other smells and flavors and all the mallows in a mixed bag would end up tasting like a weaker version of the strongest flavored mallow.

What can I even do with a marshmallow?

We think quite a few things!!  No matter what the intent of purchase was, we've learned that most of our customers simply enjoy snacking on our mallows!  But you can add some to your morning coffee, hot chocolate, put them on your sweet potatoes (one mallow on a baked sweet potato is still healthy...right?) put them in brownies, ice cream, etc. 

**We do not recommend using them for Crispy Rice Treats.  If you'd like some special Sugar Rush Cereal Treats, please email us about batch orders or check to see if there are any currently available on our website!  We make a special marshmallow for this products as our, like any other handmade marshmallow, do not do well in this particular application.  

How long will they last?

All of our marshmallows come in resealable bags and will stay fresh, on your counter, for at least four months.  You do not need to store them in the fridge, and they do quite well in a desk drawer for secret eating.

Can I get a special flavor/color/shape?

Absolutely!  We can design all sorts of custom marshmallows for your special event, school, business, dessert table, etc!  If you have a favorite dessert or drink, most likely we can make a marshmallow version of that!  We can also make special shapes for you which make great additions to hot chocolate kits! Send us an email and we will let you know what we can do!


 Can I rent the food truck?

yes!  Head on over to our "We Do Events!" page for more information!

Do you wholesale?  How can I get bulk marshmallows/boxes of marshmallows in my shop or cafe?

We do wholesale loose marshmallows (of various flavors) and boxes!  We also wholesale S'mores Pies and are working on more offerings soon!  Our wholesale price standard flavor marshmallows are $45/100 marshmallows of a single flavor but custom flavors, colors, etc are available!  And we can ship them! Just let us know what you'd like and we will make it happen!  We can also do minis and shapes!